Of Montreal Releasing 13th Album, Aureate Gloom, in Early March

Of Montreal Releasing 13th Album, Aureate Gloom, in Early March

Aureate Gloom, the thirteenth full-length album from Athens-based art-rock ensemble of Montreal, will be released March 3rd on Polyvinyl Records. The deeply personal songs were written by Kevin Barnes, the leader and sole consistent member of the ever-changing group, while in New York City last spring; the tracks were later demoed in Athens and finally recorded direct to tape at the Sonic Ranch studio recording complex near El Paso, Texas.

“I was going through a very stormy period in my life and felt like I was just completely trashed,” reveals Barnes on the inspiration for this latest batch of songs. “I might be guilty of sharing or exposing too much of my private life, but to me the best albums are those that help people connect with an artist on a deep, human level and that do so without too much artifice or evasiveness.”

The lineup this go ‘round is the same as it was for of Montreal’s 2013 album, Lousy with Sylvianbriar: Barnes (guitar, vocals), Clayton Rychlik (drums), Bob Parins (bass), Bennett Lewis (guitar), and JoJo Glidewell (keyboards), plus the help of engineer Drew Vandenberg.

You can hear the first single from Aureate Gloom, “Bassem Sabry,” here: https://soundcloud.com/polyvinyl-records/of-montreal-bassem-sabry-1/s-EMF9j

Related Posts